Return to Headlines

Senate Finance Chair Appoints School Finance Workgroup

01.23.2017 — Sen. Jane Nelson has appointed two workgroups to study pressing budget challenges this session. One of the workgroups is the School Finance Workgroup, which includes: Sen. Larry Taylor (chair), Sen. Paul Bettencourt, Sen. Brian Birdwell, Sen. Kelly Hancock, Sen. Juan “Chuy” Hinojosa, Sen. Kel Seliger, and Sen. Royce West. This group will work with all members of the Senate and stakeholders to propose potential replacements for the current school finance system.

“There is no issue more important to the future of our state than public education. We have an opportunity to improve our school finance system without a court order, and this workgroup will recommend ways to make the system less complicated, more innovative and, most importantly, more successful in meeting the needs of students,” Nelson said.

Nelson also appointed the Health Care Costs Workgroup that will examine ways to contain the rising costs of health care in Medicaid, TRS, ERS, and correctional managed care.

Read the full press release.