Return to Headlines

H-E-B Announces Excellence in Education School District Awards

H-E-B announced the finalists for the retailer's 2014 Excellence in Education Awards program for school districts, early childhood education facilities and school boards.

Together, the 17 finalists will receive more than $80,000 and go on to compete for even greater cash prizes and the statewide title. Forty teacher and principal finalists will be announced in late February and March during a series of surprise visits to schools and classrooms across Texas.

The 2014 school district, public school board and early childhood finalists are:

Large School Districts

  • Dripping Springs ISD — Dripping Springs, Texas
  • Edinburg CISD — Edinburg, Texas
  • Alamo Heights ISD — San Antonio, Texas
  • East Central ISD — San Antonio, Texas
  • Clear Creek ISD — League City, Texas

Small School Districts

  • KIPP Houston — Houston
  • Brownwood Independent School District — Brownwood

Early Childhood Facilities

  • Del Valle ISD Child Development Center— Del Valle
  • Mainspring Schools — Austin
  • Ridgemont Early Childhood Center — Houston
  • Language Development Center — Eagle Pass
  • ChildCareGroup Bock Early Childhood Center — Dallas

Public School Boards

  • Temple ISD
  • Edinburg CISD
  • Aldine ISD
  • Northside ISD
  • North East ISD

Winners will be announced at the H-E-B Excellence in Education Awards ceremony on May 3, 2014 at the Royal Sonesta Hotel in Houston. The winning large district will receive $100,000; the winning small district $50,000. The winning public school board (if selected) and early childhood facility will each receive $25,000.