Return to Headlines

H-E-B Announces Winners of 2013 Excellence in Education Awards

Celebrating its 12th anniversary of the program, H-E-B announced the state winners of the H-E-B Excellence in Education Awards during a banquet at Austin’s Hilton Hotel on Friday. H-E-B Chairman and CEO Charles Butt handed out thousands of dollars in cash awards and grants to educators, campuses, school districts and one early childhood program for being among the best in Texas.

The 2013 H-E-B Excellence in Education Award Winners Are:

Rising Star–The Rising Star Category recognizes teachers with less than 10 years of experience. Winners received $5,000 and a $5,000 grant for their school.


  • Rising Star Elementary: Monica Perez, Thomas Esparza Elementary, Edinburg CISD
  • Rising Star Secondary: Jessica Janota, Rockport-Fulton Middle School, Aransas County ISD


Leadership–The Leadership Category honors teachers with 10 to 20 years in the classroom. Winners received $10,000 and a $10,000 grant for their school.


  • Leadership Elementary: Charlotte Dolat, Woodridge Elementary, Alamo Heights ISD
  • Leadership Secondary: Lisa Windolph, McNeil High School, Round Rock ISD


Lifetime Achievement–The Lifetime Achievement Elementary Category salutes teachers with more than 20 years of experience. Winners received $25,000 and a $25,000 grant for their school.


  • Lifetime Achievement Elementary: Martha McLeod, Fulton 4-5 Learning Center, Aransas County ISD
  • Lifetime Achievement Secondary: Dr. Mary Velasquez, Luther Burbank Middle School, Houston ISD


School Principal–Winning principals received $10,000 and a $25,000 grant for each of their schools.


  • Principal Elementary: Mike Walker, Walter W. Fondren Elementary, Houston ISD
  • Principal Secondary: Dr. Scott Allen, High School for the Performing & Visual Arts, Houston ISD


Large School District–The winning large school district received $100,000.


  • Round Rock ISD–Superintendent Dr. Jesus Chavez


Small School District–The winning small school district received $50,000.


  • Hillsboro ISD–Superintendent Dr. James Gilcrease


Early Childhood–The winning early childhood facility received a $25,000 grant.


  • Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD–Principal Consuelo Casas


Healthy Campus–Each campus received a $15,000 grant to be paid over three years.

  • Hemphill Elementary, Hays ISD
  • Allison Elementary, Austin ISD
  • Glover Elementary, Fort Bend ISD
  • Edgewood Elementary, Spring Branch ISD
  • Atkinson Elementary, Pasadena ISD
  • Robb Elementary, Uvalde CISD
  • St. Mary’s Catholic School, Brownsville
  • Lyford High School, Lyford CISD
  • IDEA Quest, IDEA Public Schools, McAllen
  • Tuscany Heights Elementary, North East ISD
  • Indian Springs Elementary, Comal ISD
  • James and Margie Marion Elementary, Allen ISD