Return to Headlines

Texan Among Finalists in AASA 2014 Women in School Leadership Award

Education leaders from Texas, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee comprise the four finalists for the Women in School Leadership Awards. The finalists are:
  • Linda Carrillo, principal, PSJA North High School, Pharr, Texas
  • Lillie Cox, superintendent, Alamance-Burlington School System, Burlington, N.C.
  • Karen C. Woodward, superintendent, Lexington County, School District One, Lexington, S.C.
  • Andrea Anthony, executive principal, Page High School, Franklin, Tenn.

The award is designed to recognize exceptional leadership of active, front-line female administrators who are making a difference in the lives of students every day. Candidates are judged based on leadership in meeting the learning needs of students, personal and organizational communication strength, constant professional improvement of knowledge and skills, and active community involvement.

The final award recipients, one each in the superintendent/assistant superintendent category and central office/principal/specialist category, will be announced during the AASA 2014 National Conference on Education, Feb. 13-15, 2014, in Nashville, Tenn.

Linda Carrillo, principal, PSJA North High School, Pharr, Texas
Linda Carrillo began her tenure at PSJA North High School in August. She previously served for three years as the principal at the College, Career and Technology Academy in the Pharr-San Juan-Alamo Independent School District. Students who attend CCTA are between the ages of 18-26 who have not graduated or have dropped out of school. She has been instrumental in creating a college-going culture and guiding students on a clear path to college. CCTA has been recognized by the Texas Education Agency as a demonstration model for the state and residency programs are provided for both district employees and outside visitors.