Return to Headlines

H-E-B to Announce Winners of Excellence in Education Awards May 3

H-E-B has announced the finalists for the Excellence in Education Awards, which honors teachers, principals, school districts, and early childhood programs. The finalists will be honored in a special ceremony and the winners in each category announced May 3.

The 30 regional finalists in the Teaching Awards category each received $1,000 plus $1,000 for his or her school. The winning elementary and secondary teacher will each receive a $5,000 cash prize plus $5,000 grant for his or her school.

The 10 regional finalists—five elementary and five secondary—in the Principal Award category were awarded $1,000 each plus $2,500 for their schools. The winning elementary and secondary principal, to be named at the awards dinner on May 3, will each receive a $10,000 cash prize plus $25,000 for their schools. The 2013 finalists for the Principal Award include:

  • Genia Antoine—Pflugerville Elementary, Pflugerville ISD
  • Mike Walker—Fondren Elementary, Houston ISD
  • Jacquelyn Gorena—Stipes Elementary, Irving ISD
  • Dr. Mary Longloy—Redland Oaks Elementary, North East ISD
  • Sylvia Ibarra—Jackson Elementary, McAllen ISD
  • David Pierce—Hays High School, Hays CISD
  • Dr. R Scott Allen—High School for the Performing & Visual Arts, Houston ISD
  • Carri Eddy—Utley Middle School, Rockwall ISD
  • Dr. Barry Lanford—Lopez Middle School, North East ISD
  • Judith Solis—PSJA Memorial High School, Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD

The district awards are broken into small and large district categories, with small districts defined as being 1A, 2A or 3A.  The three regional finalists in the small district category were awarded $2,500 each and the winner will receive a $50,000 cash prize. The finalists are: 

  • KIPP-Houston (Sehba Ali, superintendent)
  • Hillsboro ISD (Buck Gilcrease, superintendent)
  • Brownwood ISD (Reece Blincoe, superintendent)

Districts in the large district category, 4 or 5 A districts, were awarded $5,000 each and the winner in the large district category will take home a $100,000 cash prize. The five regional finalists in the large district category are: 

  • Round Rock ISD (Jesús Chávez, superintendent)
  • McAllen ISD (James Ponce, superintendent) 
  • Humble ISD (Guy Sconzo, superintendent)
  • Lewisville ISD (Steve Waddell, superintendent)
  • Southwest ISD (Lloyd Verstuyft, superintendent)

First started in 2002, the Excellence in Education Awards program celebrates public school professionals whose leadership and dedication inspire a love of learning in students of all backgrounds and abilities.

With more than $600,000 in cash prizes awarded to deserving teachers, principals, and school districts, the H-E-B Excellence in Education Awards is the largest monetary recognition program for educators in Texas and one of the largest in the nation.