Return to Headlines

SBOE member Thomas Ratliff and Senator Dan Patrick to Debate on Saturday

The Great Debate

Senator Dan Patrick and State Board of Education Vice-Chair Thomas Ratliff have worked out the details for their CSCOPE debate scheduled for 6:30 p.m. on Saturday at the UT-Tyler Ornelas Activity Center.

Scott Braddock of the Quorum Report will moderate the debate, while Mary Ann Whiteker, superintendent of Hudson ISD, and JoAnn Fleming, an activist with Grassroots America of We The People, will serve as panel members.


  • Each speaker will have 2 minutes for an opening statement.
  • Each panelist will be allowed to ask 4 questions. Questions can be directed towards one speaker, or both speakers. The first speaker will get 2 minutes to answer, followed by 3 minutes of dialogue in which both speakers and the panelists can participate.
  • Each speaker will have 2 minutes for a closing statement.
  • Questions will not be taken from the audience

The debate will be live streamed.