Return to Headlines

Regional Nominees for 2018 Texas Superintendent of the Year Announced

07.06.2018 — The Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) announced the regional winners of the annual Superintendent of the Year (SOTY) award on July 6. The SOTY program recognizes exemplary superintendents for their strong leadership skills, dedication to improving educational quality, ability to build effective employee relations, student performance, and commitment to public involvement in education.

Region 1 – Daniel Treviño Jr., Mercedes ISD
Region 2 – Max Thompson, Banquete ISD
Region 3 – Jeanette Winn, Karnes City ISD
Region 4 – Mark Henry, Cypress-Fairbanks ISD
Region 5 – Mark Porterie, Port Arthur ISD
Region 6 – Tim Harkrider, Willis ISD
Region 7 – Susan Morton, Winnsboro ISD
Region 8 – Michael Lamb, Sulphur Springs ISD
Region 10 – David Vroonland, Mesquite ISD
Region 11 – Robin Ryan, Grapevine-Colleyville ISD
Region 12 – George Kazanas, Midway ISD-McLennan County
Region 13 – William Chapman, Jarrell ISD
Region 14 – Tim Seymore, Breckenridge ISD
Region 15 – Ross Aschenbeck, Sonora ISD
Region 16 – Bryan Davis, Dimmitt ISD
Region 17 – Kenneth Border, Shallowater ISD
Region 18 – Denise Shetter, Kermit ISD
Region 19 – Juan Martinez, Clint ISD
Region 20 – Brian Woods, Northside ISD-Bexar County

Superintendents from any of Texas’ 1,028 local school districts are eligible for nomination by their school boards. Local nominees are submitted to a regional selection committee, which chooses one nominee to send to the state selection committee.

The state committee will interview regional winners in Austin August 24-25 and select five state finalists. The Superintendent of the Year will be announced September 28 at the TASA/TASB Convention in Austin.