Return to Headlines

Nominations Announced for 2017 Superintendent of the Year Award

07.10.2017 — The Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) announced the regional winners of the annual Superintendent of the Year (SOTY) award on July 5. The SOTY program recognizes exemplary superintendents for their strong leadership skills, dedication to improving educational quality, ability to build effective employee relations, student performance, and commitment to public involvement in education.

Region 1 – Art Cavazos, Harlingen CISD

Region 2 – Maria Vidaurri, Robstown ISD

Region 3 – Robert Jaklich, Victoria ISD

Region 4 – Thomas Randle, Lamar CISD

Region 5 – Scott Campbell, East Chambers ISD

Region 6 – Denise Monzingo, Rockdale ISD

Region 7 – LaTonya Goffney, Lufkin ISD

Region 8 – Judd Marshall, Mount Pleasant ISD

Region 10 – John Chapman, Ennis ISD

Region 11 – Jim Vaszauskas, Mansfield ISD

Region 12 – Marc Faulkner, China Spring ISD

Region 13 – Tommy Hooker, Thrall ISD

Region 14 – Jason Cochran, Eastland ISD

Region 15 – Wes Beck, Early ISD

Region 16 – Donna Hale, Miami ISD

Region 17 – Julee Becker, Slaton ISD

Region 18 – Amy Jacobs, Coahoma ISD

Region 19 – Jeannie Meza-Chavez, Tornillo ISD

Region 20 – Jeff Cottrill, Knippa ISD

Superintendents from any of Texas’ 1,028 local school districts are eligible for nomination by their school boards. Local nominees are submitted to a regional selection committee, which chooses one nominee to send to the state selection committee.

The state committee will interview regional winners in Austin August 25-26 and select five state finalists. The Superintendent of the Year will be announced October 7 at the TASA/TASB Convention in Dallas