Return to Headlines

TASA Announces Executive Committee Election Results, Incoming Officers for 2017-18

04.03.2017 —  Results of the 2017 TASA Executive Committee elections are in. Up for election for the term June 1, 2017, to May 31, 2019, were those positions representing odd-numbered ESC regions. 

New to the Executive Committee are:

Region 5: Richard Bain, superintendent, Silsbee ISD
Region 13:
Jodi Duron, superintendent, Elgin ISD
Region 19:
Jeannie Meza-Chavez, superintendent, Tornillo ISD

Returning to the Executive Committee are:

Region 1:
Daniel Trevino, superintendent, Mercedes ISD
Region 3:
Jeanette Winn, superintendent, Karnes City ISD
Region 7:
Stan Surratt, superintendent, Lindale ISD
Region 9:
Kevin Dyes, superintendent, Holliday ISD
Region 11:
David Belding, superintendent, Aubrey ISD
Region 15:
Aaron Hood, superintendent, Robert Lee ISD
Region 17:
Keith Bryant, superintendent, Lubbock-Cooper ISD

At-Large Appointments to Executive Committee Approved

The Executive Committee approved the appointment of Shaun Barnett, superintendent, Stamford ISD, and Doug Williams, superintendent, Sunnyvale ISD, each to a two-year term from June 1, 2017, to May 31, 2019.

However, following the meeting, Barnett was elected to represent Region 14 on the Executive Committee, effective June 1. As a result, President-elect Buck Gilcrease has invited Roland Toscano, superintendent, East Central ISD, to fill the vacant at-large position.

Williams has been serving as an at-large member since June 2016, filling the vacancy left by Clark Ealy in the second year of his term, after his election to the Region 6 position.

Elizabeth Clark, associate superintendent for curriculum and instruction, Birdville ISD, will leave the Executive Committee completing her two-year term as an at-large member on May 31.

2017-18 TASA President-Elect and Vice President Chosen
At its March 29 meeting, the TASA Executive Committee ratified the election of Lake Dallas ISD Superintendent Gayle Stinson as 2017-18 TASA president-elect. Stinson was the only candidate submitting the necessary petitions, and was thereby elected to the position. She currently serves as the 2016-17 TASA vice-president. Also at the meeting, the Executive Committee elected Greg Smith, Clear Creek ISD superintendent, to serve as TASA vice-president. Both will serve one-year terms starting June 1.

Update: Fort Bend ISD Superintendent Charles Dupre to Fill Region 4 Seat on Executive Committee
Charles Dupre, superintendent of Fort Bend ISD, will represent Region 4 on the TASA Executive Committee during the 2017-18 school year. He was elected in balloting conducted among TASA members in Region 4 and will fill the position vacated by Greg Smith, who was recently elected to serve as TASA vice-president for 2017-18. Dupre will serve the second year of Smith’s term, from June 1, 2017, to May 31, 2018.

President-Elect Gilcrease to Assume Position of President
Buck Gilcrease, superintendent, Alvin ISD, assumes the position of TASA president on June 1.