Return to Headlines

H-E-B Announces School District Finalists for 2017 Education in Excellence Awards

H-E-B 01.13.2017 — Today H-E-B announced that eight school districts and five early childhood facilities have been selected as finalists for the retailer's 2017 Excellence in Education Awards program, now in its 16th year. H-E-B also recognized five public school boards to highlight the importance of strong leadership at the board level.

The 2017 school district, early childhood facility, and public school board finalists are:

Large School Districts
Allen ISD — Allen, Texas
Brownsville ISD — Brownsville, Texas
Grand Prairie ISD — Grand Prairie, Texas
Northwest ISD — Fort Worth, Texas
Socorro ISD — El Paso, Texas

Small School Districts
Alamo Heights ISD — San Antonio, Texas
Hutto ISD — Hutto, Texas
Lake Travis ISD — Austin, Texas

Early Childhood Education Facilities
Vogel Alcove Dallas, Texas
Dalton Early Childhood Center Uvalde, Texas
Victoria ISD Victoria, Texas
John H. Cherry Bay City, Texas
Pre-K San Antonio Education Center San Antonio, Texas

Public School Boards
Harlingen CISD Harlingen, Texas
Dripping Springs ISD Dripping Springs, Texas
Fort Bend ISD Sugar Land, Texas
Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD Bedford, Texas
Schertz-Cibolo-Universal City ISD Schertz, Texas

H-E-B will award a total of $85,000 to the finalists and school boards.

Winners will be announced at the H-E-B Excellence in Education Awards ceremony May 7, 2017. The winning large district will receive $100,000; the winning small district will receive $50,000. An early childhood facility will receive $25,000. If selected, one or more school boards will receive up to a total of $25,000.

Forty teacher and principal finalists will be announced in February and March during a series of surprise visits to schools and classrooms across Texas.

About the H-E-B Excellence in Education Awards
H-E-B launched the Excellence in Education Awards program in cooperation with TASA in 2002 as a positive way to support public education in Texas. It has become the largest monetary program for educators in the state, spotlighting best practices and celebrating the passion and creativity of Texas educators.