Return to Headlines

TASA Announces Regional Nominees for 2015 Outstanding School Board

08.04.2015 — Sixteen Texas school district boards of trustees have been selected as regional nominees for the 2015 TASA School Board Awards.

The regional nominees for 2015 Outstanding School Board of the Year are:

Region School District Nominating Superintendent
1 La Joya ISD Alda Benavides
4 Cypress-Fairbanks ISD Mark Henry
8 Texarkana ISD Paul Norton
10 Gunter ISD Jill Siler
10 Wylie ISD David Vinson
13 Elgin ISD Jodi Duron
14 Albany ISD Shane Fields
14 Colorado ISD Reggy Spencer
15 Paint Rock ISD Ron Cline
15 San Angelo ISD Carol Ann Bonds
17 Floydada ISD Gilbert Trevino
18 Wink-Loving ISD Dewitt Smith
18 Midland ISD Ryder Warren
19 Fort Hancock ISD Jose Franco
19 Socorro ISD Jose Espinoza
20 North East ISD Brian Gottardy


Texas school superintendents who belong to TASA and meet other criteria may nominate their boards of trustees for the TASA School Board Awards. Committees of TASA members organized by Texas’ regional education service centers review the nominations and select up to two school boards for consideration for the state-level awards: one with fewer than 1,000 students and one with 1,000 or more students.

TASA’s School Board Awards Committee will meet in late August to select up to five of the nominated boards to be recognized as Honor Boards. Those finalists will be interviewed at the TASA/TASB Convention in Austin October 2-4, and one will be named Outstanding School Board of the Year during that event.