Return to Headlines

TASA Announces Executive Committee Election Results, Incoming Officers for 2015-16

04.01.2015 — Results of the 2015 TASA Executive Committee elections are in. (Seats representing odd-numbered districts were up for election this year.) Joining the TASA Executive Committee on June 1 and serving terms that end May 31, 2017, are:
Region 9: Dennis Bennett, superintendent, Jacksboro ISD
Region 11: Gayle Stinson, superintendent, Lake Dallas ISD
Region 15: Aaron Hood, superintendent, Robert Lee ISD

Returning to the Executive Committee for terms ending May 31, 2017, are:

Region 1: Daniel Trevino, superintendent, Mercedes ISD
Region 3: Vicki F. Adams, superintendent, Palacios ISD (see update below)
Region 5: Shannon J. Holmes, superintendent, Hardin-Jefferson ISD
Region 7: Fred S. Hayes, superintendent, Nacogdoches ISD
Region 13: Douglas Killian, superintendent, Hutto ISD
Region 17: Kevin Spiller, superintendent, Seagraves ISD
Region 19: Jose G. Franco, superintendent, Fort Hancock ISD

At-Large Appointments to Executive Committee Approved
Two new at-large members will join the Executive Committee on June 1. Elizabeth Clark, associate superintendent, Birdville ISD, and Clark Ealy, superintendent, College Station ISD, will replace outgoing at-large members Jodi Duron, superintendent, Elgin ISD, and Gena Gardiner, assistant superintendent, Highland Park ISD. Clark and Ealy will serve two-year terms.

2015-16 TASA President-Elect and Vice President Chosen
At its March 24 meeting, the TASA Executive Committee confirmed the election of Alamo Heights ISD Superintendent Kevin Brown to serve as 2015-16 TASA president-elect. Brown was the only candidate to submit the necessary petitions, having served during the current year as TASA vice-president. The Executive Committee elected Alvin ISD Superintendent Buck Gilcrease to serve as vice-president. Both will serve one-year terms starting June 1.

President-Elect Rue to Assume Position of President
Karen Rue, superintendent, Northwest ISD, assumes the position of TASA president on June 1.

Update: 05.15.2015 — Jeanette Winn, superintendent of Karnes City ISD, will represent Region 3 on the TASA Executive Committee beginning June 1. She will fill the position vacated by Vicki Adams, who resigned her position on the Executive Committee. Adams has accepted the superintendency of Hillsboro ISD in Region 12. Winn was the sole candidate for the position, so pursuant to TASA Operating Procedures, it was not necessary to conduct an election.