Return to Headlines

Regional Nominees Announced for Outstanding School Board Award

Nine Texas school district boards of trustees have been selected as regional winners in the annual Texas Association of School Administrators' 2014 School Board Awards Program. Created in 1971, the School Board Awards Program was established to recognize school boards whose dedication and service have made a positive impact on the schoolchildren of Texas. The 2014 regional honor boards are:

  • Clear Creek ISD, superintendent Greg Smith, (ESC 4)

  • Palestine ISD, superintendent Jason Marshall (ESC 7)

  • Plano ISD, superintendent Richard Matkin (ESC 10)

  • Arlington ISD, superintendent Marcelo Cavazos (ESC 11)

  • Aquilla ISD, superintendent David Edison (ESC 12)*

  • Midway ISD, superintendent George Kazanas (ESC 12)*

  • Hutto ISD, superintendent Douglas Killian (ESC 13)

  • Culberson County-Allamoore ISD, superintendent Marc Puig (ESC 18)

  • Northside ISD, superintendent Brian Woods (ESC 20)

TASA's School Board Awards Committee will meet later this month to select five finalists as Texas Honor School Boards. The five Honor Boards will be interviewed at the TASA/TASB Convention in Dallas and spotlighted during the Second General Session on Sept. 27, with one school board being named the Outstanding School Board of the Year.

*Regions have the option of naming two regional honor boards, one with under 1,000 students and one with 1,000 or more students.