Return to Headlines

Nominees Announced for 2014 Superintendent of the Year Award

The Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) announced the regional winners of the annual Superintendent of the Year (SOTY) award. The SOTY program recognizes exemplary superintendents for their strong leadership skills, dedication to improving educational quality, ability to build effective employee relations, student performance, and commitment to public involvement in education.

The regional superintendents of the year are:

A. Marcus Nelson, Laredo ISD (1) Chad Kelly, Taft ISD (2)
Jon Wunderlich, Weimar ISD (3) HD Chambers, Alief ISD (4)
Mary Huckabay, Hull-Daisetta ISD (5) Thomas Wallis, Bryan ISD (6)
Stan Surratt, Lindale ISD (7) Judy Pollan, Pittsburg ISD (8)
Danny Taylor, Burkburnett ISD (9) Michael McFarland, Lancaster ISD (10)
Karen Rue, Northwest ISD (11) James Gilcrease, Hillsboro ISD (12)
Mark E. Eads, San Marcos CISD (13) Heath Burns, Abilene ISD (14)
Ron Cline, Paint Rock ISD (15) Rod Schroder, Amarillo ISD (16)
Elbert Wuthrich, Whiteface CISD (17) Jeff Cottrill, Knippa ISD (20)

The state committee will interview regional winners in Austin on August 22-23 and select five state finalists. The Superintendent of the Year will be announced September 26 at the TASA/TASB Convention in Dallas.