Return to Headlines

HEB Excellence in Education Awards Presented to Outstanding Teachers, Principals, and Districts

A total of $430,000 in cash awards were presented to educators, schools and districts during the 13th annual HEB Excellence in Education Awards program Saturday night in Houston. HEB launched the program in 2002, with TASA as its Founding Partner. Since its inception, $7.5 million has been given to educators, schools and districts across the state. We applaud Charles Butt, HEB Chairman and CEO, for his continuing support of public education and Texas educators.

In addition to cash awards at the regional level, eight teachers and principals received an additional cash award of $5,000, $10,000, or $25,000 based on their years of service, as well as a matching grant for their school. An early childhood facility received $25,000, the outstanding school board received a $25,000 cash award, and the winning large school district received $100,000 and the winning small school district received $50,000. Following is a list of the state winners:

Teacher Awards

Rising Star Elementary
Celena Miller
Cesar Chavez Elementary
Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD
Rising Star Secondary
Mary Lagleder
Warren High School
Northside ISD (San Antonio)
Leadership Elementary
Nicholas Solis
Hillcrest Elementary
Del Valle ISD
Leadership Secondary
Bart Taylor
A&M Consolidated High School
College Station ISD
Lifetime Achievement Elementary
Connie Bagley
Crockett Elementary
San Marcos ISD
Lifetime Achievement Secondary
Rosbel Pena
Alton Memorial Jr. High
Mission CISD

Principal Awards

Elementary Principal
Gladys Graves
Chilton Elementary
Chilton ISD
Secondary Principal
Jason Johnston
Maurine Cain Middle School
Rockwall ISD

School District and Program Awards

School District (Large District)
Edinburg CISD
Rene Gutierrez, Superintendent
School District (Small District)
KIPP Houston
Ali Sehba, Superintendent
Early Childhood Program
ChildCareGroup Early Childhood Center
Victoria T. Mannes, President and CEO
School Board
Temple ISD
Robin Battershell, Superintendent
Steve Wright, Board President