Return to Headlines

2013-14 Johnny L. Veselka Scholarship Recipients

The Texas Association of School Administrators recently established the Johnny L. Veselka Scholarship to honor and provide financial assistance to outstanding doctoral students pursuing a career in educational leadership, with particular emphasis on the superintendency.

The scholarship recognizes the ongoing leadership of Dr. Johnny L. Veselka, who has dedicated nearly 40 years of service to the association, including 28 years as TASA’s Executive Director.

TASA awarded three scholarships at the First General Session of the 2014 Midwinter Conference in the amount of $2,500 each to these deserving individuals:

  • Ashley Stewart, Tarleton State University; Assistant Superintendent, Graham ISD
  • DesMontes Stewart, Stephen F. Austin State University; Area Director, Garland ISD
  • Gilbert Trevino, Texas Tech University; Superintendent, Floydada ISD

Congratulations to these accomplished doctoral students whose deep commitment to public education will guide them as they pursue careers in educational leadership.

Scholarship winners pictured from left to right: Gilbert Trevino, Ashley Stewart, and DesMontes Stewart.