• The Friend Award is given to an individual who has made a significant contribution to TCWSE.   The 2018 Friend Award will be presented during the 2018 TCWSE Conference, January 27-28, Hilton Austin Hotel.

How to Apply

  • Nominations are now being accepted for the 2018 Friend Award. Use the link below to access the nomination form. The nomination deadline is Friday, December 1, 2017.

Previous Recipients

Recipients are listed with their position and organization at the time of receiving the award.
Year Recipient
2016 Scott and Leslie Milder, Friends of Texas Public Schools, and Tai Chapman, Regional Account Executive, Scholastic Education
2015 Texas Alliance of Black School Educators, Michael D. McFarland, President
2014 Syfr (Dick Erdmann and Christine Drew)
2013 Christina Winters Gears, Creating & Managing Wealth, LLC
2012 Apangea Learning and SHW Group
2005 TASA Headquarters Staff
2004 Horn, Smith, Wood and Associates
2002 Chester Hastings, Professor (retired), Educational Administration and Educational Psychology, Baylor University
2001 Fred Orr, Gallagher Construction Management Services
2000 Laura S. Fowler, Managing Partner, Henslee, Fowler, Hepworth & Schwartz, PLLC, and General Counsel, TCWSE
1999 Martha J. Stone, Assistant Superintendent, Curriculum and Instruction, Irving ISD
1998 Annell Todd, Executive Director, TSPRA; Publisher, Texas School Business Magazine
1997 Nolan Estes, L.D. Haskew Centennial Professor, The University of Texas at Austin
1996 Ann M. Halstead, Director of Communications and Technology, TASA
1995 Johnny L. Veselka, Executive Director, TASA