• This award is given to an outstanding Texas educator who has demonstrated exemplary leadership and supported professionalism for women in education and who exemplifies the mission of TCWSE. The recipient of the Margret Montgomery Leadership Award must be a member of TCWSE.
    The 2020 Margret Montgomery Leadership Award will be presented during the Awards Luncheon at the 2020 TCWSE Conference, January 25-26, Hilton Austin Hotel.

How to Apply

  • Nominations are now being accepted for the 2020 Margret Montgomery Leadership Award.  Use the link below to access the nomination form. The nomination deadline is December 6, 2019.

Previous Winners

Recipients are listed with their position and organization at the time of receiving the award.
Year Recipient
2019 To be announced at the 2019 Conference!
2018 Tina Herrington, Superintendent, Wharton ISD
2017 LaTonya Goffney, Superintendent, Lufkin ISD
2016 Diane Stegall, Retired Superintendent / Financial Advisor, Modern Woodmen Fraternal Financial
2015 Debi Crawford, Assistant Superintendent, Educational Services, Hawkins ISD
2014 Genie Linn, Associate Professor, University of Texas at Tyler
2012 Yvonne Katz, President, Vision Into Action Associates, Inc.
2009 Shirley M. Coleman, Superintendent, San Vicente ISD
2007 Julia Warren Ballenger, Associate Professor and E.J. Campbell Distinguished Professor, Stephen F. Austin State University
2006 Susan P. Holley, Assistant Superintendent, Education Services, Killeen ISD
2005 Luanna Stephens, Professor, San Angelo State University
2004 Elizabeth Clark, Deputy Superintendent, Curriculum & Instruction, Katy ISD
2003 Janet Hood-Hanchey, Assistant Superintendent, Human Resource Development Services, Lewisville ISD
2002 Beverly J. Irby, Associate Professor, Department of Educational Leadership and Counseling, Sam Houston State University
2001 Dawn Youdan, Consultant, Sunrise Consulting
2000 Gwen Schroth, Assistant Professor, Educational Administration, Texas A&M University–Commerce
1999 Anita M. Pankake, Professor, Educational Administration, Texas A&M University–Commerce
1998 Genevieve Brown, Professor, Sam Houston State University
1997 Susan K. Sclafani, Chief of Staff, Houston ISD
1996 Carole Funk, Professor, Educational Leadership, Texas Woman's University
1995 Margret A. Montgomery, Consultant, Professional Research Institute (Inaugural Recipient)