2018 Scholarship Recipients

  • TASA awarded three scholarships at the 2018 Midwinter Conference in the amount of $2,500 each to these deserving individuals:

    Elmer Avellaneda

    Elmer Avellaneda, executive director of special programs for Corsicana ISD, is working toward his doctorate in educational leadership and policy studies at Tarleton State University. “I have witnessed and felt firsthand the consequences that a lack of education brings forth; as a result, I have chosen the superintendency as my career path,” he wrote in his application. “I want to continue to cast hope, support, encouragement and faith into the lives of our students so that they too can one day reach their full potential.”

    Mya Kendrick-Mercer

    Mya Kendrick-Mercer, director of elementary staffing for Round Rock ISD, is working toward her doctorate in educational leadership and policy from The University of Texas at Austin. “As an African-American child from poverty, it was public education that made it possible for me to intelligibly overcome the early economic and social hurdles set before me. It was the talented and skilled public educators who worked tirelessly to give me the access and opportunity,” she wrote in her application. “Because of the efforts of several champions on my journey, I am empowered to lead and champion others to do likewise for the students of both today and tomorrow.”

    Tanya Larkin  

    Tanya Larkin, superintendent of Pampa ISD, is pursuing a doctorate in educational leadership from Lamar University. “The superintendent sets the tone for the entire district and community, articulates the vision, mobilizes the resources, and clears the path from distractions so that all staff can focus on the students. Although only in this job a short time, I am already in love with the role,” she wrote in her application. “I am excited and humbled to have the opportunity to serve and am learning more of how best to do the right things, in the right ways, for the right reasons—every day."

    Congratulations to these accomplished doctoral students whose deep commitment to public education will guide them as they further their careers in educational leadership.