TASA School Board Awards Program

  • TASA created the School Board Awards Program in 1971 to recognize school boards whose dedication and ethical service have made a positive impact on the schoolchildren of Texas. It is an excellent way for districts to recognize their hard-working, dedicated board members.

    Each year, regional selection committees submit up to two nominations for state competition, one from districts with fewer than 1,000 students and one from districts with more than 1,000 students. The criteria emphasize support for educational improvement projects and school transformation initiatives.

    School boards nominated to represent their regions are in the running to be named one of five Texas Honor Boards, one of which is chosen as Texas' Outstanding School Board. All regional nominees and honor boards are recognized at the TASA/TASB Convention, which takes place each fall.

2019 Related Dates

  • June 14, 2019
    District submissions due to district's Regional ESC

    July 12, 2019
    Regional school board nominations due to TASA from ESCs

    By August 9, 2019
    TASA School Board Awards Committee announces five Texas Honor School Boards

    September 20, 2019
    Texas Outstanding School Board named at TASA/TASB Convention in Dallas

Contact Us

2018 Outstanding Board

  • Grapevine-Colleyville ISD Board of Trustees The Grapevine-Colleyville ISD Board of Trustees was named the 2018 Outstanding School Board in September 2018 at the TASA/TASB Convention. Learn more.

2018 Honor Boards

District ESC Superintendent
Brenham ISD 6 Walter Jackson
Community ISD 10 Roosevelt Nivens
Grapevine-Colleyville ISD 11 Robin Ryan
Lamar Consolidated ISD 4 Thomas Randle
Medina Valley ISD 20 Kenneth Rohrbach