Golden Deeds for Education Award

The Golden Deeds for Education Award is considered the most coveted award in the field of Texas education and the highest recognition for distinguished service to education in the state. The Texas A&M University Department of Educational Administration and Human Resource Development and the Texas Association of School Administrators present the Golden Deeds Award at the Annual Administrative Leadership Institute. The award is given to an individual from any profession who has consistently supported Texas students and teachers through his/her positive impact on public education. 

2016 Golden Deeds Award Nominations

The Golden Deeds recipient is nominated through a statewide nominating committee, which consists of school district superintendents from all over the state of Texas. The award is presented to an individual who has, through actions and deeds, improved the educational system in Texas to enrich the lives of all Texas public school students.

Golden Deeds Award Recipients

The award has been presented since 1964, and the list of recipients reads like a "Who's Who" of Texas education.
 2016  Thomas Ratliff
 2015  Jimmie Don Aycock
 Abelardo Saavedra
 Virginia Collier
 2012  Lynn M. Moak
 2011  F. Scott McCown
 2010  Maria Hernandez Ferrier
 2009  David Thompson
 2008  Bill McKinney
 2007  Leonard Merrell
 2006  Joe Pirtle
 2005  Bob Griggs
 2004  James Terry
 2003  Johnny L. Veselka
 2002  Vialleau Wilkie
 2001  Rick Perry
 2000  Will D. Davis
 1999  John Horn
 1998  Jackie Christie
 1997  Michael Moses
 1996  Barry B. Thompson
 1995  John R. Hoyle
 1994  Robert W. Caster
 1993  Norman Hall
 1992  E.A. Sigler
 1991  Pat Shell
 1990  Linus Wright
 1989  W.N. Kirby
 1988  Jon Brumley
 1987  Dan Long
 1986  Raymon Bynum
 1985  —
 1984  Don Robbins
 1983  Mary Ann Leveridge
 1982  John Townley
 1981  Marlin L. Brockett
 1980  Charles F. Matthews
 1979  Joe Kelly Butler
 1978  Alton O. Bowen
 1977  Frank W.R. Hubert
 1976  Dana Williams
 1975  Kate Bell
 1974  R.E. Harris
 1973  L.D. Haskew
 1972  Leon Graham
 1971  Frank M. Jackson
 1970  J.W. Edgar
 1969  Paul R. Hensarling
 1968  Grady P. Parker
 1967  —
 1966  George B. Wilcox
 1965  —
 1964  A.M. Aiken