Golden Deeds for Education Award

  • The Golden Deeds for Education Award is considered the most coveted award in the field of Texas education and the highest recognition for distinguished service to education in the state. The award, presented jointly by TASA and the Texas A&M University Department of Educational Administration and Human Resource Development, is given to an individual from any profession who has consistently supported Texas students and teachers through his/her positive impact on public education. Starting in 2020, it will be awarded at the TASA Midwinter Conference.

2020 Golden Deeds Award Nominations

  • The Golden Deeds recipient is nominated through a statewide nominating committee, which consists of school district superintendents from across Texas. The award is presented to an individual who has, through actions and deeds, improved the educational system in Texas to enrich the lives of all Texas public school students.
    The 2020 nomination period is open through 5 p.m., Friday, September 27, 2019.

Golden Deeds Award Recipients

  • The award has been presented since 1964, and the list of recipients reads like a "Who's Who" of Texas education.
     2018  Neal Adams
     2017  Karen Rue
     2016  Thomas Ratliff
     2015  Jimmie Don Aycock
     2014  Abelardo Saavedra
     2013  Virginia Collier
     2012  Lynn M. Moak
     2011  F. Scott McCown
     2010  Maria Hernandez Ferrier
     2009  David Thompson
     2008  Bill McKinney
     2007  Leonard Merrell
     2006  Joe Pirtle
     2005  Bob Griggs
     2004  James Terry
     2003  Johnny L. Veselka
     2002  Vialleau Wilkie
     2001  Rick Perry
     2000  Will D. Davis
     1999  John Horn
     1998  Jackie Christie
     1997  Michael Moses
     1996  Barry B. Thompson
     1995  John R. Hoyle
     1994  Robert W. Caster
     1993  Norman Hall
     1992  E.A. Sigler
     1991  Pat Shell
     1990  Linus Wright
     1989  W.N. Kirby
     1988  Jon Brumley
     1987  Dan Long
     1986  Raymon Bynum
     1985  —
     1984  Don Robbins
     1983  Mary Ann Leveridge
     1982  John Townley
     1981  Marlin L. Brockett
     1980  Charles F. Matthews
     1979  Joe Kelly Butler
     1978  Alton O. Bowen
     1977  Frank W.R. Hubert
     1976  Dana Williams
     1975  Kate Bell
     1974  R.E. Harris
     1973  L.D. Haskew
     1972  Leon Graham
     1971  Frank M. Jackson
     1970  J.W. Edgar
     1969  Paul R. Hensarling
     1968  Grady P. Parker
     1967  —
     1966  George B. Wilcox
     1965  —
     1964  A.M. Aikin



  • September 27, 2019
    Nominations Due

    October 7-18, 2019
    Committee Reviews Nominations & Determines Recipient

    November 11, 2019
    Recipient Announced

    January 26-29, 2020
    Recipient Honored at TASA Midwinter Conference