• The Bravo Award is presented for exemplary practitioners, innovative programs, and initiatives that promote community and parental involvement. The 2020 Bravo Awards will be presented during the 2020 TCWSE Conference, January 25-26, Hilton Austin Hotel.

How to Apply

  • Nominations are now being accepted for the 2020 Bravo Award. Use the link below to access the nomination form. The nomination deadline is Friday, December 6, 2019.

Previous Recipients

Recipients are listed with their position and organization at the time of receiving the award.
Year Recipient
2019 To be announced at the 2019 conference!
2018 Denise Kornegay, State & Federal Programs Director, Paris ISD
Kathry Washington, Principal, Goodrich ISD
Linda Wheeler, Assistant Principal, Katy ISD
2017 Lorena Zertuche, Principal, Katy ISD
2016 Crystal Dockery, Superintendent, Hunt ISD
Diane Frost, Superintendent, Corsicana ISD
Lisa Lauderdale, Intermediate Principal, Mexia ISD
Brenda Sellers, Elementary Principal, Mexia ISD
Val Sunday, Assistant Principal, Mexia ISD
2015 Denise Daniels, Assistant Principal, Katy ISD
LaTonya Goffney, Superintendent, Lufkin ISD
Stacey McGraw, Education Specialist, Allen ISD
Terri Watkins, Superintendent, LaMarque ISD
2014 Karla Burkholder, Director, Instructional Technology, Northwest ISD
2013 Sharon Ross, Superintendent, Jefferson ISD
2012 Genie B. Linn, Associate Professor, University of Texas at Tyler
Joyti Malhan, Dean of Instruction, Young Women's College Preparatory Academy, Houston ISD
Melissa McIntosh, Assistant Superintendent, Curriculum & Instruction, Jefferson ISD
Karen Lynne Saunders, Principal, Snyder Academy, Snyder ISD
2010 Pam Bryant, Superintendent, Clarksville ISD
Deardra Hayes Whigham, Senior Academy Director, Uplift Education
Wendy Ruthart, Assistant Principal, Chisum Elementary, Chisum ISD
2007 Patricia "Patti" Moore, Middle School Principal, Bryan ISD
Lisa Hall, Elementary Counselor, Valley Mills ISD
2006 Margaret A. Montgomery, Consultant, Mongtomery Consultant Services, Inc.
2005 Monograph Authors, Women as School Executives—Leadership: A Bridge to Ourselves
2004 Diane Ashley, Instructional Officer, Compensatory Education, Katy ISD
Sharon Boutwell, Administrator, Curriculum, Staff Development, and Strategic Planning, Spring Branch ISD
Jose Colorado, Assistant Principal, Katy ISD
Meredith Gunn, Instructional Officer, Staff Development, Katy ISD
Nancy Vaughan