Higher Education Committee

Members of this committee, representing institutions that offer approved programs in superintendent preparation, are responsible for developing recommendations to the Executive Committee and staff regarding areas of study, projects, and programs that should be considered by the association. According to the TASA bylaws, three of the committee members shall be officers of the Texas Professors of Educational Administration.
  • 2016-17 Chair: Dawson Orr , Clinical Professor and Chair of the Department of Education Policy and Leadership, Southern Methodist University
Name Title District Region Phone Email
Dawson R. Orr Clinical Professor and Chair of the Department of Education Policy and Leadership Southern Methodist University 10 (214) 768-1176 dawsono@smu.edu
Bob Thompson Executive Director, Center for Executive Leadership Lamar University 5 (409) 880-7011 bthompson4@gt.rr.com
Stacey Edmonson Dean, College of Education Sam Houston State University 6 (936) 294-1101 sedmonson@shsu.edu
Pauline M. Sampson Professor Stephen F. Austin State University 7 (936) 468-1414 sampsonp@sfasu.edu
Vance L. Vaughn Associate Professor University of Texas-Tyler 7 (903) 565-5669 vvaughn@uttyler.edu
James H. Russell President Texarkana College 8 (903) 832-5565 jameshenry.russell@texarkanacollege.edu
Tamlyn L. Jones Program Director/Professor Dallas Baptist University 10 (214) 333-5728 tamj@dbu.edu
Mary P. Winn Associate Professor Tarleton State University 11 (254) 968-1891 winn@tarleton.edu
Barry Aidman Assistant Professor Texas State University 13 (512) 245-2150 bja14@txstate.edu
Ruben D. Olivarez Professor, Public School Executive Leadership Program University of Texas-Austin 13 (512) 471-7255 rolivarez@austin.utexas.edu
Fred Hartmeister Chair, Educational Psychology and Leadership Texas Tech University 17 (806) 742-1998 fredhart15@prodigy.net