2017-18 Higher Education Committee

  • Members of this committee, representing institutions that offer approved programs in superintendent preparation, are responsible for developing recommendations to the Executive Committee and staff regarding areas of study, projects, and programs that should be considered by the association. According to the TASA bylaws, three of the committee members shall be officers of the Texas Professors of Educational Administration. (Appointed annually by the TASA president; one-year terms)

    • 2017-18 Chair: Dawson Orr , Clinical Professor and Chair of the Department of Education Policy and Leadership, Southern Methodist University
     
Name Title District Region Phone Email
Dawson R. Orr Clinical Professor and Chair of the Department of Education Policy and Leadership Southern Methodist University 10 (214) 768-1176 dawsono@smu.edu
Elvis H. Arterbury Professor Lamar University 5 (409) 880-7011 Knowledgespan@att.net
Stacey Edmonson Dean, College of Education Sam Houston State University 6 (936) 294-1101 sedmonson@shsu.edu
Cynthia Martinez-Garcia Associate Professor Sam Houston State University 6 (936) 294-4728 cmg021@shsu.edu
James Henry Russell President Texarkana College 8 (903) 823-3198 jameshenry.russell@texarkanacollege.edu
Neil Dugger Dean, College of Education Dallas Baptist University 10 (214) 333-5728 neil@dbu.edu
Karen G. Rue Retired Superintendent 11 (817) 681-9553 karenrue@att.net
Barry Aidman Assistant Professor Texas State University 13 (512) 245-2150 bja14@txstate.edu
Ruben D. Olivarez Professor, Public School Executive Leadership Program University of Texas-Austin 13 (512) 471-7255 rolivarez@austin.utexas.edu
Fred Hartmeister Chair, Educational Psychology and Leadership Texas Tech University 17 (806) 742-1998 fredhart15@prodigy.net
David P. Thompson Professor The University of Texas at San Antonio 20 (210) 458-5200 david.thompson@utsa.edu