Executive Committee Election Requirements & Eligibility

  • 2018 Executive Committee Elections: Operating Procedures
    Each nomination to the Executive Committee shall be supported by signatures of TASA members in the region, totaling a number equal to 15 percent of the active members in the region, but no less than five signatures. The required number shall be based on the total number of active members in the region at the end of the 2016-17 membership year (May 31, 2017).
    A petition may be initiated by the candidate or any TASA member in the region. Petitions shall be in the hands of the TASA executive director not later than February 15, 2018. Each member presenting a nomination must state that the nominee is a paid-up member of the Association for the current year and that permission of the proposed nominee has been secured to offer his/her name as a candidate for election to the Executive Committee. Any active TASA member in the region, other than a paid staff member of the Association, is eligible to sign a petition on behalf of a nominee.
    Eligibility Status/Petition Requirements 
    Current Executive Committee members in even-numbered districts are listed below with their eligibility status. Members are eligible to serve two consecutive two-year terms. Petition requirements are based on 15 percent (but no fewer than five) of regional active members, 2016-17 final count.  

Petition Requirements

15 percent of regional active members (and no fewer than five), 2016-17 final count
Region Active Members Signatures Required
2 55 9
4 277 42
6 147 23
8 65 10
10 367 56
12 164 25
14 67 11
16 88 14
18 72 11
20 144 22

Eligibility Status

* Not eligible for re-election; ** Not seeking a second term
Region Name District
2 Troy Mircovich* Ingleside ISD
4 Charles Dupre Fort Bend ISD
6 Clark Ealy College Station ISD
8 Rex Burks* Simms ISD
10 Kevin Worthy Royse City ISD
12 George Kazanas Midway ISD
14 Shaun Barnett Stamford ISD
16 Steve Post** Tulia ISD
18 Ariel Elliott Greenwood ISD
20 Brian T. Woods* Northside ISD

Contact Us