TASA School Board Awards Program

School Board Awards logo TASA created the School Board Awards Program in 1971 to recognize school boards whose dedication and ethical service have made a positive impact on the schoolchildren of Texas. It is an excellent way for districts to recognize their hard-working, dedicated board members.

Each year, regional selection committees submit up to two nominations for state competition, one from districts with fewer than 1,000 students and one from districts with more than 1,000 students. The criteria emphasize support for educational improvement projects and school transformation initiatives.

School boards nominated to represent their regions are in the running to be named one of five Texas Honor Boards, one of which is chosen as Texas' Outstanding School Board. All regional nominees and honor boards are recognized at the TASA/TASB Convention, which takes place each fall.

2017 Related Dates

June 16, 2017
District submissions due to district's Regional ESC

July 17, 2017
Regional school board nominations due to TASA from ESCs

August 8, 2017
TASA School Board Awards Committee announces five Texas Honor School Boards

October 6, 2017
Texas Outstanding School Board named at TASA/TASB Convention in Dallas

Contact Us

Amy Francisco, Director, Communications and Media Relations

2016 Outstanding Board

Lancaster ISD Board The Lancaster ISD Board of Trustees was named the 2016 Outstanding School Board on September 24, 2016, during the TASA/TASB Convention. Learn more.

2016 Honor Boards

District ESC Superintendent
Denver City ISD 17 Gary Davis
Eagle Mountain-Saginaw ISD 11 Jim F. Chadwell
Lancaster ISD 10 Michael McFarland
Robstown ISD 2 Maria Vidaurri
Schertz-Cibolo-Universal City ISD 20 Greg Gibson